Open vision bar
Choose Covington
Join our Team

Hall of Honors Award Winners

Hall of Honors

A bomber pilot, a doctor, a philanthropist, a lawyer and a public relations expert will be inducted into the Holmes High School Hall of Distinction in June. The hall was established in 2000 to honor distinguished graduates and/or friends of Covington Schools for their achievements and contributions to society.

The winners will be recognized during the Hall of Honors event at 6 p.m., June 14, at the Drees Pavilion. This will mark the first year for the Hall of Honors, which combines the Hall of Distinction and the Covington Education Foundation’s Person of the Year. The revamped event is designed to honor alumni, celebrate supporters of the school - all while raising funds to support the foundation's efforts to help students succeed by providing scholarships, paying college fees and assisting with the district’s mentoring program. Cost is $55 per person.

For information, sponsorship opportunities and ticket prices, please go to or contact Janice Krumwiede, 859 392-3182.

The Hall of Honors will recognize:

Covington Education Foundation’s Person of the Year Brent Cooper - Cooper is owner and president C-Forward, which employs 32 people and provides managed I.T. services, Cyber Security and Disaster Recovery solutions. Cooper, a graduate of the University of Kentucky, is an advocate for education He served on the board of Covington Partners and was chair of the Northern Kentucky Education Council. He is very active in the community and currently serves on a number of boards including the Kentucky State Chamber Board, Baptist Health Board, NKU Foundation Board and the Northern Kentucky Convention Center Board. He has received numerous awards. Cooper resides in Ft. Thomas with his wife and two children.

Hall of Distinction Inductees

John H. Klette, Jr. – Klette is a native of Covington and a decorated World War II B-17 bomber pilot who was awarded the Silver Medal. He has always loved law and aviation. At 98, he continues to practice law with his daughter, Ruth, in the office of Klette, Klette and Mauntel in Ft Mitchell.

Genesis Fisher - Genesis graduated from Holmes High School in 1996 and received her Bachelor’s Degree from Smith College in Northampton, Mass. She has worked as a lawyer for the Southern Poverty Law Center in Montgomery, Ala., and as a public defender for the Legal Aid Society in New York, She currently works as a private defense attorney and has opened her own counseling service to settle disputes in a holistic manner.

John Jay Fossett - Fossett is a founding partner of Strategic Advisers, a lawyer licensed in Kentucky and Ohio, a former City Solicitor and City Manager for the City of Covington, and a former newspaper reporter and magazine editor. Fossett is a 1977 graduate of Holmes High School, is a graduate of the University of Kentucky, a graduate of Salmon P. Chase College of Law at Northern Kentucky University, and a graduate of the Haile/U.S. Bank College of Business at NKU.

Elsa Heisel Sule – After graduating from Holmes High School, Mrs. Sule went on to the University of Cincinnati, graduating in 1943 with a BA in English. She was a director and scriptwriter for Ruth Lyons and Bob Braun. She founded the Elsa Heisel Sule Foundation in 2004 as a charitable trust. The foundation makes grants to private, nonprofit organizations and public agencies in the tristate area.

Outstanding Young Alumnus Award

The district added a new honor this year – the Holmes High School Outstanding Young Alumnus Award. The first recipient of this award is Dr. Ryan Fischer, a dermatologist. After graduating from Holmes, Fischer attended the University of Kentucky where he obtained his medical degree. He completed his dermatology residency at the University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City, where he served as chief resident. He now resides and practices in Lexington.

Back to School News       Print
James E. Biggs Early Childhood Education Center  |  1124 Scott Boulevard  |  Covington, KY 41011
Phone:859.292-5895  |  Fax:859.292.5956